Posted in Thoughts and Ideas

“Oh, you’re studying Classics?”

“What’s Classics? Oh right, like Jane Austen and Shakespeare and stuff!”

No, not really. A little bit older than that. Though those two are both cracking reads and I would highly recommend them.

“No no no I got this. Like Mozart. As in Classical music. You study Mozart, right? Right?”

Nope. Bit older again. Keep trying.

“No wait, Classics is like Latin and stuff isn’t it?”

Bingo! And ancient Greek, and ancient history, art and archaeology, linguistics and philosophy. Those parts are important too. But sure, Latin and stuff, yay!

“But Latin and Greek are dead languages, aren’t they? What’s the point of learning a dead language?”

I could offer you a myriad of reasons, but it would take a while. Can I direct you instead towards the copious amounts of scholarship on the subject of the merits of learning Latin and Greek? Or you could read my EPQ, in which I summarise many of the main reasons? No? Sure?

“So what are you going to do with a Classics degree? What can you do with a Classics degree? Teach?”

Well, I’ve spent the last three years of my life repeatedly telling people that I’m not going to be a teacher, so it has become a matter of pride that I find an alternative career path. God knows what that alternative career path will be.

“Lawyer?”

You know, as a Classicist I can do pretty much anything, not just law or teaching. Except maybe brain surgery. Think I gave that dream up many years ago.

“I remember doing Latin when I was at school. Amo, amas, amat, eh? Eh?”

-_-

“Carpe diem?”

-_-

“Oh is that the Odyssey? Haha, it’s all Greek to me, haha!”

-_-

“Why are you looking at me like that? It’s Shakespeare, isn’t it? I just made a Shakespeare reference. You study Shakespeare, don’t you?”

Classics was not featured as a degree subject on the NUS website, despite the fact that 63 other subjects, including six different types of engineering, were. Stop the plight of the forgotten Classicist. Be Classics-aware.

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

4 thoughts on ““Oh, you’re studying Classics?”

Leave a Reply

