Posted in Smaller Crafts

DIY Pom-Pom Earrings

So a few days ago I saw some Pomme Pomme London earrings in the Times’ Style magazine, and fell a little bit in love! But instead of spending the £10 or £20 in return for a pair, I thought that I could have a stab at making my own cheaper version.

The earrings feature small, brightly coloured pom-poms on hoops. To make pom-poms that small, I wound my yarn around two 17mm washers, instead of faffing around with flimsy cardboard circles that would be very fiddly on such a small scale. This worked pretty well, as I could wrap my yarn tightly without worrying about the cardboard buckling. I used a postbox red cotton yarn which I already had in my stash, and it took about 150cm before the hole in the middle was nearly closed up. Then I slipped the washers, with the yarn wound round, onto some plain gold hoops I’d bought, before cutting round the pom-poms, securing, and removing the washers. Then I just had to snip any longer threads and fluff out the pom-poms, and I had a lovely pair of bright red pom-pom earrings:

Here they are, clashing magnificently with the pink edge of my striped beanie

This project took less than an hour of my time, and only cost a few pennies. Taking a little time to figure out whether you can recreate something yourself is definitely worth it. Why wouldn’t you?

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

4 thoughts on “DIY Pom-Pom Earrings

Leave a Reply

