Posted in Thoughts and Ideas

New Town, Old Clothes: the Project Begins!

So a couple of weeks ago I posted about an idea I had (read it here), that I wouldn’t buy any new clothes for a year. Instead, I would buy second-hand clothes and adapt them myself. This idea was sparked because I’m moving the day after tomorrow to a town with very limited shopping possibilities! Buying clothes from charity shops would also be much cheaper and more ethical than high-street shopping, as well as helping out all sorts of good causes.

There were a couple of problems that I envisaged would arise from this project, however. Namely, I’d be a bit stuck if I needed some essentials, or if an essential I already own broke beyond repair. I’m also hoping to attend a couple of balls at my university over the next academic year, and am understandably apprehensive about creating or adapting my own ballgowns! No doubt there will be other things that I haven’t thought of. In light of this, I’ve decided to go ahead with the project at least until the New Year. If all is going well, and there are no unmanageable problems, I will continue for the whole year. If not, at least I will have had a term-long project.

The details of the project are as follows:

  1. I will only be allowed to buy second-hand clothes, with a couple of exceptions:
  2. I will be allowed to buy essentials (underwear, vest tops etc.) new
  3. I will also be allowed to buy items such as shoes and coats, which need to be hard-wearing and good-quality, but which are not feasible to make or adapt myself (vague, loophole-y rule, much?)
  4. The first phase of the project will last from the 12th August 2015 until the 31st December 2015. If everything is going well, the project will then continue until the 11th August 2016

I’ll hopefully be attempting to make or adapt one ballgown as part of the project, with a dress I already own as backup in the (likely) event that it all goes horribly wrong! I really hope I won’t have to stop the project at the New Year; I’ve only added this mid-project date in case of unforeseeable difficulties.

Tomorrow is our last full day at my current address. My mum and I are probably doing a spot of shopping as part of our last visit into town – if so, that should be the last opportunity I’ll have to buy new clothes for a year! Anyone who knows me will also know how difficult this should be for me, considering how many dresses I buy on a regular basis. So wish me luck, everyone…

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

7 thoughts on “New Town, Old Clothes: the Project Begins!

  1. This sounds like a lovely project! What a good way to save money and recycle/refashion clothing that is already around! I love going thrift store hunting; you never know what you’ll find. Good luck and keep it up! I can’t wait to read more about it!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m pretty excited to get going because I have no idea what my wardrobe is going to look like in a year’s time. Hopefully I’ll end up with some awesome clothes that I wouldn’t have the guts to wear normally, that are also more ethical 😆

      Like

Leave a Reply

