Posted in Smaller Crafts

Quick Crochet Makes

For me, one of the best things about crafting is thinking “I need a such-and-such”, and then becoming the proud owner of a lovely, hand-crafted, low-cost such-and-such as soon as the very same day! Quick crafts can be some of my favourites – I do love the sense of achievement and pride that only comes from longer labours of love, but sometimes I wake up with an urge to make a whole such-and-such, and it’s very satisfying to have an idea translated into a real item before the sun has set.

I had such an urge the other afternoon, and duly sat down in front of an episode of Sherlockcrochet hook in hand, and created. First up was this phone case:

Photo courtesy of my brother’s Sony phone. Cause my iPhone was, y’know, inside the case

I’ve had my lovely iPhone 5c since Christmas, and quickly discovered how few cases there are for the 5c. 5 and 5s cases exist in abundance, but the 5c is inexplicably neglected by the market. And we all know how fragile iPhones are, even when competing against the softest of carpets, so I thought I wouldn’t tempt fate any longer by leaving mine unprotected. The main blue body of the case I found lurking at the bottom of my stash, unadorned and still attached to the ball of yarn. I’d crocheted it ages ago for my old Samsung, realised too late that the case was way too narrow, and abandoned the project. But lo and behold, it fitted my iPhone perfectly (don’t you just love it when things work out?), so now it’s been jazzed up with some contrast pink detailing and given a second chance.

The case was very easy to make, perfect for a beginner. Using dk weight yarn and a 3.5mm hook, make a foundation chain which is the same width as your phone. Single crochet into each chain stitch, single crochet 3 into the last chain stitch, then, working in the opposite direction, single crochet into the other side of each chain stitch, single crochet 3 into last chain stitch. This should make a narrow oval shape. Continue to single crochet into every stitch, working in a spiral, until work measures the height of your phone. Slip stitch into next single crochet. Break off yarn. You can leave it at that for a super simple case, or add the decorative edging below:

Join contrast yarn into any sc in top row; sc into same st, sc into next st, *ch4, sc into same st, sc2* until end of round, ch4, sl st into first sc.

I also embroidered four rows of chain stitch in my contrast yarn, each two sc rows below the last. And that was all, yay! As I said, this would be a useful and pretty starter project if you’re new to crochet, as it only uses chain stitch, slip stitch and single crochet.

Not satisfied with the case, I immediately picked up a different hook and began project number 2 for the evening (Sherlock was hotting up by this stage. The programme, not the character. The character was hot enough to begin with). I needed a small dish to put my bracelets in, since they were knocking about loose, so I slightly adapted a coaster project from the Mollie Makes Crochet book to make a bowl shape with slightly curved edges. Since the pattern’s not mine, I can’t really tell you how I did it, but anyway. Here it is:

Aerial view…
…and in situ

I’m really happy with this one! I’m busy sorting out my new room at the moment, and the pink colour suits my decor nicely (it’s mainly blue and pink hues, because I’m such a girly, Cath Kidston girl). Plus I made it (and finished the phone case) in the space of one episode of Sherlock. What’s not to love?

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

6 thoughts on “Quick Crochet Makes

Leave a Reply

