Posted in Smaller Crafts

Necklace for a Bookworm

When we were moving house, we went round the house collecting small, forgotten items that had fallen behind or underneath furniture over the past 11 years. Among the treasure we found was a tiny book, which must have escaped from my mum’s dolls’ house. Now, I have a habit of making jewellery out of every small object I can get my hands on, and this case was no different.

Mum and I settled down to watch Up (what a tearjerker) yesterday evening, and I thought I could have a cute book necklace completed before the credits rolled. I didn’t foresee, however, that I would spend basically the entire film shoving three different sized needles into the corner of the book in an attempt to make a hole all the way through the pages and both covers. The book resisted for as long as it could. What a book. A little after the film ended, I completed this Herculean task, and wormed a jump ring through the hole.

Though it be but little, it is fierce

And then all I had to do was cut a length of chain, slip the book onto it, and attach a fastening. A veritable doddle in comparison.

  

I’ve been impressed recently by the online community of Disneybounding (wearing everyday outfits, not costumes, that are inspired by certain Disney characters), and it’s something I think I’d like to try. This necklace would be perfect for self-confessed bookworm Belle, who is one of my favourite Disney characters, so maybe I’ll try and put together an outfit!

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

4 thoughts on “Necklace for a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

