Posted in Smaller Crafts

Pastel Striped Fingerless Gloves

Cambridge winters are cold. Relentless. Unforgiving. The kind of weather that sees you crawling out of your bed still wrapped in your duvet, or literally crying when you go outside because the wind is biting enough to bring tears to your eyes. Most mornings last winter, upon leaving my staircase to head to lectures, I would express out loud to no-one in particular just how cold it was (for example, ‘Good golly, it’s jolly nippy out here’). Cycling to lectures in the wind every morning wasn’t fun. Between the months of January and April, my hands were permanently raw and chapped to the point of bleeding. I had bloody knuckles, from a punch up with the weather. Essay writing wasn’t fun either. The heating in my room had a particular knack for only heating one small corner of the room, with the consequence that my hands would sometimes be too cold to type.

BUT NO LONGER. I have learned from last year’s mistakes, and this term I shall take several pairs of thick gloves, and large quantities of industrial strength hand cream.

To this end, I crocheted myself a quick pair of fingerless gloves last weekend. I used a pattern from the first issue of #Crochet magazine, which was released just over a year ago. The basic stitch used in the pattern is a variation of treble crochet, where you crochet into the gaps between the stitches on the previous row, instead of crocheting into the top of each stitch. I made the version with stripes alternating between two colours – in my case, lilac and mint green. They were quick and simple to make, although I found that the sizing came up rather small (I have quite small hands but ended up making the largest size to get them to fit. Then again, maybe my tension was just quite tight).

Can we all take a moment to appreciate how tiny my little fingers are

But I’m happy – they’re pretty and cosy, two qualities I value very highly in winter wear. Seeing as they’re fingerless, they won’t be much use for cycling, but they should be perfect for essay writing in cold student halls!

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

2 thoughts on “Pastel Striped Fingerless Gloves

Leave a Reply

