Posted in Thoughts and Ideas

Out With the New: Mid-Project Review

On the 12th August I started a project called Out With the New, which prevents me from buying new clothes (instead I can buy second-hand clothes or make my own from scratch). I said that I would continue until 31st December and then have a pit stop and decide whether I wanted to continue for the full year. Well, it is now 31st December and, there being no major problems so far, I am pleased to say that the project will continue for the full year, until 11th August 2016.

I had assumed that the project would mainly consist of charity shop refashions, which I’ve done a few of in the past. But one consequence of the project is that I have made my first few garments entirely from scratch. Perhaps this is because, if I’ve wanted a particular item of clothing, I’ve had no option other than making it myself, since the chances of finding exactly what I want in a charity shop are slim. So I’ve only altered one charity shop find so far – this navy pleated skirt:

Navy pleated skirt

I’ve handmade three items of clothing, starting with the ‘dress in a day’ Bettine dress by Tilly and the Buttons:

I’m super proud of this one!

This elephant-print box pleat skirt:

Dat fabric tho

And another recently-completed project that will go up on the blog soon! I’ve also made strong progress in my first ever knitted garment – a red, lace pattern jumper:

Perhaps I’ll have it done for next New Year’s Eve!

So far I have had fun widening my dressmaking repertoire, and I have plans for lots of handmade clothes for 2016. It’s just a shame university keeps getting in the way…

I hope you all have enjoyable New Year’s celebrations, and please accept my best wishes for a happy and fulfilling 2016!

 

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

Leave a Reply

