Posted in Smaller Crafts

Hama Bead Nostalgia

Does anyone remember Hama beads? I spent hours of my childhood painstakingly placing the individual beads onto the pegboard, only to have my creations break on day two, warp under the heat of the iron, or – worst of all – fail to make it to the iron in the first place because I tripped over en route. I wonder how many hundreds of these beads ended up in the Hoover?

It was fond memories such as these that whooshed back into my head when I saw a pack of these beads and a pegboard in Tiger. So I bought them, obviously. I had in mind to make a colourful phone case, since it had been a while since I made this phone sock and I thought my phone deserved a bit of love. So I duly bought a cheap plastic snap-on phone case from Amazon and set to work.

Let’s hope they stay in this ice-cream tub

I followed a pattern from Mollie Makes issue 66, which warned I might become seriously addicted. And I duly have done. There’s something very calming about slowly placing the colourful little beads onto the board, and watching your lovely creation grow. Like cross-stitch, but quicker. And more plastic.

It didn’t take too long before I was ready for the iron. I applied a careful bit of heat and then left it to cool under some heavy books, to help it lie flat. Then all that was left to do was attach it to the phone case with some strong glue, and I had a colourful new phone case:

Sadly my phone is not in it here. Because it’s, y’know, taking the photo

Pretty, functional, quick, easy and fun to do – a very satisfying little project indeed! Now I’ll have to see what I can make with the remaining beads…

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

3 thoughts on “Hama Bead Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

