Posted in My Makes

The Cleo dungaree dress

I was lucky enough to land myself an internship at Tilly and the Buttons throughout the summer – it was great fun and the girls at Tilly Towers are all lovely! While I was there, they were working on a couple of new patterns: the Rosa shirt and dress (which came out in September), and the brand-new Cleo dungaree/pinafore dress, which is out today! Tilly asked me if I wanted to test the pattern, and I was thrilled to do so.

Here she is:

 

dsc_0809
Worn with my super versatile Seasalt Sailor top

 

This is the ultimate dungaree dress – it’s so damn comfy and the relaxed fit means that there’s room for jumpers under here as well as tees and shirts (not to mention pudding, right?). There are two different versions included in the pattern: mine’s the shorter version with dungaree buckles, but you can also make it knee-length with a front split, or add buttons instead of buckles to make it a pinafore dress. There are also different options for pockets – I chose the bib pocket and two hip pockets:

 

DSC_0813.JPG
A treat for you all! A picture of my bottom

This photo better shows the topstitching details in this pattern: down the centre front and back, round the pockets, round the top edge of the dungarees and down both sides of the straps. All optional, but I think it looks pretty neat! I don’t have much experience of topstitching so I was pretty chuffed with how mine came out, even if I do say so myself.

I chose to make my dungarees out of a medium-weight denim. This is one of the suggested fabrics on the pattern envelope, but I think if I were to make it again I’d use a slightly heavier denim, as this one creases quite easily. Other than that, I’m really pleased with how they’ve turned out – they were really easy to make and I’ve already worn them loads throughout the transition from summer to winter. Perfect for layering! In fact, I’m already dreaming of a version in pastel pink corduroy, and given that these only took a couple of days to make, you may well be seeing another Cleo on here before too long!

dsc_0811

You can buy the Cleo pattern here, from today!

 

 

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

6 thoughts on “The Cleo dungaree dress

  1. Such a pretty dress and I’m envious of your topstitching, it is perfect! I’m making a Cleo this weekend, I’m using buttons though as I’m not brave enough to attempt the buckles, were they tricky? x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m still not used to topstitching so I was pleased that it went ok. I actually found the buckles really easy – you just slide them onto the straps and sew in place. The fun part was the jeans buttons which I had to hammer in place very loudly – it was very satisfying!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

