Posted in My Makes

A midi skirt – with pockets!

I had been dreaming of a Parisian-style look for a while: navy and white striped Breton top, big shades, and a postbox-red midi skirt to swish through the streets in. I even had a trip to France on the near horizon (my choir tour to Angers and Paris in July). It was too good an opportunity to pass on.

I used a solid red cotton (bought from MyFabrics) and a combination of the button-down circle skirt from Lisa Comfort’s book Sew Over It Vintage and the Cleménce skirt from Tilly Walnes’ book Love at First Stitch (though in hindsight it would have just been easier to use Tilly’s picnic blanket skirt instructions on her blog). And a couple of days later, my Parisian dreams came true:

DSC_0803.JPG
For some reason I am unusually pale in the picture

The skirt didn’t take too long to make, as all the pieces were rectangles and, being cotton, it was incredibly easy to sew. The only annoying part was having to make all seven buttonholes by hand, as the buttonhole stitch on my sewing machine hates me. But I sat down with some good TV and got stitching, so it wasn’t so bad. Plus, making the covered buttons was really fun! I love the difference having a front button placket makes, as opposed to a simple gathered skirt with a zip in the back.

DSC_0805.JPG

This skirt also saw my first attempt at in-seam pockets (using instructions from Love at First Stitch) and they came out surprisingly well! Anyone close to me has probably had to endure my lengthy rant about the lack of pockets on women’s clothing (it’s super frustrating having to take a bag everywhere, OK?), and so learning how to sew different styles of pockets was a definite must for me. These in-seam ones are almost completely invisible, and I’m sure I’ll be adding them to basically every dress and skirt I make from now on. The pockets also mean that this skirt is ideal for slouching in, while still looking elegant – what more could I ask for? Plus I look exactly like Audrey Hepburn now, right? No?

I’m really glad I did this little project. It was pretty easy and didn’t take long, but I just wanted to see whether the midi length would work on me, as I’ve never tried that look before. This skirt has given me the confidence to try more midi-length skirts and dresses in the future.

As an added bonus I got to wear my new skirt while on holiday in France, so my Parisian dreams really did come true:

midi-skirt-model
Doing my very best model impression

Ooh la la! Now I just need to get round to making Tilly and the Buttons’ Coco top (in navy and white Breton stripes, of course) so I can complete the look!

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

Leave a Reply

