Posted in My Makes

A Pink Corduroy Cleo

If you read my last post you’ll already be aware that a Cleo dungaree dress (the latest pattern from Tilly and the Buttons) in pastel pink cord was the first item on my to-sew list. I was inspired by the picture below and couldn’t get it out of my mind:

cleo-inspo

So I bought two metres of pastel pink corduroy from Minerva Crafts and, as soon as I got home from university last week, I set to work tracing, cutting and sewing, and before long, my dream Cleo was born:

pink-cleo-2
I had to crop my face out because I’m ill and I look it. You’re welcome

I think I am head-over-heels in love with the Cleo pattern. I’ve made one before (I was actually a pattern tester for this pattern!) which you can read about here, but since this is now the final, buyable version of the pattern there are a few small differences. The bib panel is about 1cm wider across the bust, and the whole thing is a couple of centimetres longer (but I made my straps shorter on this one so it’s actually about the same length as my first Cleo). My favourite thing about the Cleo pattern is all the topstitching around the pockets, straps and top edge of the dungarees, and down the centre front and back seams. I used a dark pink thread to do my topstitching, and I’m really pleased with the effect it has against the pale pink.

pink-cleo-8
Two shots of the front pocket, strap and edge topstitching, and one shot of a hip pocket which is inexplicably a completely different shade of pink

I had to do some of the topstitching a few times before I was satisfied, as I’m still not very good with precision sewing. I think I just get nervous when it sinks in that this line of stitching is in a different colour and will be *gasp* visible. And, sure, some of the topstitching is a little wonky in places, but only I will ever be looking close enough to see. I also topstitched the hem in the dark pink colour (the instructions say to use a matching thread for the hem) which turned out pretty neat.

pink-cleo-6
Hem, centre back mock-felled seam and hip pockets

I’d never sewn with corduroy before but I looked up a few tips on t’internet. It said I shouldn’t press the fabric, but seeing as the pile on my fabric wasn’t that deep, I think I got away with a few sneaky presses here and there. I’ve also learned a few things about corduroy:

  1. It likes to go walkabout when you’re sewing two pieces right sides together
  2. Lint. Lint everywhere
  3. It’s so soft I keep stroking myself in what could be seen as an inappropriate manner

I love this fabric so it’s VERY LUCKY that I have nearly a whole metre left over from this dungaree dress (I could only buy it in full metres). So I have a suspicion you’ll be seeing more pink corduroy before too long!

pink-cleo-7
I couldn’t find the right size buckles, which is slightly annoying

The Cleo pattern comes with a few variations: front bib pocket, front hip pockets, back hip pockets, pinafore-style straps with buttons, dungaree-style straps with buckles, and a choice of two lengths. I toyed with the idea of doing a slightly different style from my first Cleo, but eventually settled on the exact same design, with the shorter length, buckles and pockets in the same places. This combination just feels very me in a way that the longer length or hip pockets on the front just wouldn’t. Plus, hammering in the no-sew jeans buttons is way more fun than sewing on a button.

I just think this pattern suits me very well and I can easily see this version of Cleo becoming one of my go-to looks. In fact, I think it already is.

pink-cleo-1

Author:

Hello! I'm Hannah and I'm a Classics undergrad at Cambridge. I spend most of the time which I should be spending on my degree crocheting and sewing instead.

Leave a Reply

